The Spiritual Touch

Chakra -The Seven Centers of Consciousness


Chakra -The Seven Centers of Consciousness.

Chakra has always been a quite interesting topic for scientists, naturopaths and yogis. The existance of chakra system in human body is also being recognized in the Medical world as the new medical healing techniques like “Radical healing” are coming up which involves the eradication of the disease with the help of aligning your chakras.According to ancient scriptures there are many energy centers in a human body out of which seven are main which are located in the spinal cord.
Nadis: ‘Ida’ and ‘Pingala’!
Let me explain in some more detail, we have got three nadis in our spinal cord namely ida, pingala and sushumna. These nadis are the channels through which prana flows in our body. Nadis are present in oue subtle body and not in gross physical body.
Ida carries the current of life-energy in the left side of the body. Pingala carries the current in the right side of the body. Sushumna carries the current in the middle of the spinal column. Sushumna is the most important of the three nadis.

Ida has a special connection with the moon and the planet Mercury; hence its main quality is coolness and mildness. Pingala is connected with the sun and Mars hence its quality is powerful and dynamic heat. Ida rules the left nostril. Pingala rules the right nostril. Ida, pingala and sushumna meet together at six different places. Each meeting place forms a centre and each centre is round like a wheel. Indian spiritual philosophy calls these centres chakras. They are also called lotuses, because they look like the lotus flower.

The six centres are muladhara, swadhisthana, manipura, anahata, vishuddha and ajna. There is also another chakra that is inside the brain, called sahasrara. Because it is in the brain, and not along the spinal column, it is not counted with the other six centres.

Apart from these six, there are many other energy centers in the subtle physical body. In the knee we have a chakra; even in the toes and the fingertips we have such centers but they are minor and are not usually mentioned.

Sushumna Nadi!

Sushumna nadi further consists of three concentric nadis (or sub-nadis) out of which innermost is known as “brahm-nadi”. All chakras are situated in this brahm-nadi.

Gateway to flow of Life Force!

So chakras are basically the centers of vital force or life force or prana. These centers regulate the prana or life force of the various organs of our body and they directly affect that organ.

Whenever there is some lack of prana in any of these subtle energy center, it directly results in some sort of diesease or any other type of problem in the related organs .They need to be opened for the proper flow of kundalini energy.

If kundalini starts rising and one of these centers has not been awakened properly or without proper purification, then the kundalini will get stuck there and will create several physical and mental problems.
This system of seven energy centers has a direct affect on the state of our physical and emotional health affecting every aspect of our life, our direction and decisions.
As the higher chakras gets awakened, the person evolves more and more and accordingly, his or her personality traits are determined.
Evolution of humans with different chakras

The mind of a worldly man with base desires and passions moves in the ROOT and SACRAL energy centers, the centres situated near the anus and the reproductive organ respectively.

If one’s mind becomes purified the mind rises to the Manipura or solar plexus energy center, the centre in the navel and experiences some power and joy.

If the mind becomes more purified, it rises to the Anahata or heart energy center, experiences bliss and visualizes the effulgent form of the God.

When the mind gets highly purified, when meditation and devotion become intense and profound the mind rises to Visuddhi or throat center, and experiences more and more powers and bliss.

When the Yogi reaches the Ajna or third eye center, he attains Samadhi and realises the Supreme Self, or Brahman(The ultimate supreme power). But still there is a slight sense of separateness between the devotee and Brahman. If yogi reaches the SAHASRARA, he attains Nirvikalpa Samadhi or superconscious state. He becomes one with the non-dual Brahman (The ultimate supreme power). All sense of separateness dissolves. This is the highest plane of consciousness or supreme Samadhi.
(courtsy: kundilini & chakra)

So, what do you think ?